7th phase voting in Bengal election today

at 2:22 pm
Bengal elections
Representational image

New Delhi (NVI) The seventh phase of voting in eight-phase West Bengal election in currently underway which began at 7 am today.

As the polling is still underway, voter turnout was recorded at 75% at till 5.30 pm.

Ruling Trinamool Congress and the BJP are contesting on all 34 seats. Polling takes place on these seats in parts of Paschim Bardhaman, Dakshin Dinajpur, Malda and Kolkata.

284 candidates are in the fray during this phase while 86 lakh voters will decide their fate.

Voting is being held at 12,068 polling stations today. At least 796 companies of central forces have been deployed for this phase, as decided by poll panel.

Meanwhile, the polling takes place as India grapples with the second wave of Covid pandemic and a massive surge in daily cases.