Assembly election dates announced

at 6:36 pm
Chief election Commissioner
Election Commission of India

New Delhi (NVI): The Election Commission of India (ECI) today announced the Assembly Elections dates for four states and one Union Territory.

These states include Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Assam and the Union Territory of Puducherry where elections are due in April-May.

The voting of assembly elections will begin on March 27, while counting of votes will be conducted on May 2.

According to ECI, the assembly polls in West Bengal will be held in eight phases on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and April 29, while in Kerala it will be held in a single phase on April 6.

On the other hand, Puducherry will begin voting in a single phase on April 6 and elections in Tamil Nadu will also be held in a single phase on same day. “Assam will vote in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6,” the ECI said.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora while announcing the poll schedule said that everyone on election duty for the upcoming polls for five assemblies will be vaccinated against COVID-19 before polling day.

“Also, arrangements will be put in place for candidates to file their nominations online for the assembly polls. Voting will be allowed for an additional hour, keeping in mind COVID-19 safety guidelines,” he added.

This will be the second assembly elections to be conducted across the country amid COVID-19 pandemic. The commission had successfully conducted Bihar Assembly elections in November last year.