Bihar: Nitish retains power

Bihar: Nitish retains power

New Delhi (NVI): In a nail-biting contest, the Janta Dal (United) and Bharatiya Janata Party coalition clinched 125 seats in the 243-member State Assembly while the Grand Alliance Mahagathbandhan secured 110 seats.

The Mahagathbandhan refused to accept the results, accusing the returning officers of succumbing to the pressure of ruling alliance. However, the Election Commission has refuted the allegation and clarified that the votes counting continued til late night due to shortage of proper space as only a few benches were allowed in a room/hall due to the Covid-related restrictions.

In terms of vote share, the NDA secured less than 40 per cent. On the other hand, the RJD-led grand alliance managed around 37 per cent votes. The RJD topped the vote share with 23.1 per cent and emerged as the single largest party. The BJP had a vote share of 19.5 per cent.

With 15.4 per cent, the JD(U) was third on the list, followed by others at 18.8 per cent. Congress managed to get just 9.5 per cent of the votes, while the BSP and AIMM ended up with a vote share of 1.49 per cent and 1.24 per cent. respectively. Over 7 lakh Bihar voters chose NOTA option, which is around 1.68 per cent.