Britain adds Pakistan, three other countries in its travel ban list

at 5:06 pm

New Delhi (NVI): The British government today announced that Pakistan and three other countries, including Bangladesh, have been added to the its red list of travel ban, following the fresh surge in Covid-19 case in several parts of the world.

The travel ban, that will come into effect from April 9, will also cover Philippines and Kenya, according to reports in British media.

Taking to the Twitter, British High Commissioner Christian Turner said, “As the UK government has been keeping its boarder measures to close review because of COVID-19, today it is announced that Pakistan has been added to UK’s red list of travel ban countries.”

According to Turner, the Red List has been referred to only UK and Irish nationals and those with residency rights in UK will be allowed to travel to the country.

“Returning Britons must submit to 10 days of mandatory quarantine in hotels. The restrictions will be imposed from 4 am on April 9,” he added.