France eases COVID travel restrictions for 7 nations

at 5:04 pm
nationwide lockdown

New Delhi (NVI): The government of France has announced that it will ease some COVID-19 travel restrictions on travellers from seven countries outside Europe.

The travellers will still need to have a negative COVID-19 test before arriving to France, according to the reports.

France’s Foreign Ministry in a release said that those travelling to or from South Korea, Israel, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, the UK and Singapore will no longer need to have a compelling reason to travel and no longer have to provide any document pertaining to the reason for travel to France.

“As opposed to before, when travellers had to furnish documents suggesting the nature of travel and the urgency, such as family or medical emergency,” it added.

The ministry further informed that the ease in travel restrictions are being implemented as these countries have shown an improvement in the coronavirus situation in past few weeks.

In this regard, French Tourism Minister Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne in his Twitter said, the decision to ease restrictions was taken because of the improving health situation in the seven countries.

“The list includes Britain, because the UK variant now also circulates widely in France,” he added.

Apart from the easing of restrictions, all the other guidelines would remain in force such as requirement of negative COVID-19 test less than 72 hours before your travel. Also, following all the COVID-19 guidelines such as social distancing and wearing of face masks is very much in order in the country.

Earlier in January 31, the country banned all non-essential travel by people from outside the EU, as it tried to curb the spread of COVID-19 variants, including the UK variant.