India, Afghanistan sign 5 MoUs for developing edu infra in 4 Afghan provinces

New Delhi (NVI): India and Afghanistan today signed five agreements for the development of educational infrastructure in four Afghan provinces of Nooristan, Farah, Badakhshan and Kapisa, in a further expansion of development partnership cooperation.

The moves is seen as a reiteration of India’s support to Afghanistan at a time when the war-torn country’s peace process is facing challenges.

“#India & #Afghanistan further expanded Development Partnership cooperation by signing of 5 MoUs for development of educational infrastructure in 4 Afghan provinces namely Nooristan, Farah, Badakhshan and Kapisa,” the Indian Embassy in Afghanistan said in a tweet.

The five memorandums of understanding (MoUs) were signed under the high impact community development projects (HICDP) programme being implemented by India to further strengthen the bilateral development partnership, read an official statement by the Indian Embassy in Kabul.

“Since 2001, India has undertaken projects worth $3 billion in Afghanistan, including $1 billion pledged in 2016 under the new development partnership scheme over the period of five years. These projects are part of India’s commitment to assist Afghanistan emerge as a peaceful, united, prosperous and pluralistic nation”, the statement read.

Projects under the MoU signed today come within the purview of HICDP Scheme. Since 2005, GOI has committed USD 200 million to support over 550 projects throughout Afganistan under HICDP, the Indian embassy said. Of these, over 400 projects have been completed while the remaining are under various stages of implementation, it added.

The ceremony was presided over by the Afghan minister of economy, Mustafa Mastoor. Tripartite agreements were signed between the Indian government, the Afghan ministry of economy and the implementing ministries, such as the ministry of education.

The MoUs were signed by Indian ambassador Vinay Kumar and ministers Mustafa Mastoor and Abdul Tawab Balakarzai, while three were signed by Kumar and ministers Mastoor and Rangina Hamidi.