Mamata takes oath as WB CM

    at 4:02 pm
    Representational image

    New Delhi (NVI): Trinamool Congress Chief Mamata Banerjee was today sworn-in as the Chief Minister of West Bengal for the third consecutive term.

    She was administered the oath of office by Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar at a simple ceremony at Raj Bhavan in Kolkata.

    Banerjee led her Trinamool Congress party to huge victory in the just-concluded Assembly elections.

    The party bagged 213 seats in the 294-member Assembly, with a vote share of nearly 48%.

    The BJP, which tried its best to wrest power, could not muster to cross the two-digit mark.

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Banerjee on taking oath as the West Bengal CM.

    In a tweet, PM said, “Congratulations to Mamata Didi on taking oath as West Bengal’s Chief Minister. @MamataOfficial.”