Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM
Nitish Kumar

New Delhi (NVI): Janata Dal (United) president Nitish Kumar took oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the seventh time at Raj Bhavan in Patna. This will be his fourth consecutive term.

Kumar’s oath-taking ceremony came a day after he was unanimously chosen to be the chief minister by the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

The NDA won the state election last week with a thin majority and got 125 of Bihar’s 243 assembly seats. The results were declared on November 10 after counting of votes that went past midnight.

However, Kumar’s Janata Dal-United delivered a dismal performance, winning 43 seats compared to the 74 seats of the BJP, which has now become the big brother in the alliance.

He was first sworn in as Chief Minister in 2000, for a term that lasted a week as he failed to muster a majority and returned as a minister at the Centre in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.

Along with Kumar, BJP leaders Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi also took oaths. They are expected to serve as his deputies.

The sworn-in ceremony at the Patna Raj Bhavan was attended by various top leaders including Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP president JP Nadda.