PM to launch physical distribution of property cards under ‘SVAMITVA’ scheme

Narendra Modi (file photo)

New Delhi (NVI): Prime Minister Narendra Modi will launch the physical distribution of property cards under the SVAMITVA scheme on October 11, a historic move set to transform rural India and empower millions of Indians.

In a statement, the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) said the virtual launch will enable around one lakh property holders to download their property cards through the SMS link delivered on their mobile phones, followed by physical distribution of the property cards to the beneficiaries by their respective state governments.

These beneficiaries are from 763 villages across six states including 346 from Uttar Pradesh, 221 from Haryana, 100 from Maharashtra, 44 from Madhya Pradesh, 50 from Uttarakhand and 2 from Karnataka, the PMO added.

The beneficiaries from all these states except Maharashtra will receive the physical copies of the property cards within one day.

“Maharashtra has a system of recovering the nominal cost of property sard, so it will take a month’s time. This is the first time that such a large-scale exercise involving the most modern means of technology is being carried out to benefit millions of rural property owners,” the PMO said in a statement.

The move will, however, pave the way for using property as a financial asset by villagers for taking loans and other financial benefits.

During the event, the Prime Minister will also be interacting with some of the beneficiaries and Union Minister for Panchayati Raj Narendra Singh Tomar will also be present on the occasion.

‘SVAMITVA’ is a Ministry of Panchayati Raj scheme which was launched by the Prime Minister on National Panchayati Raj Day on April 24 this year. The scheme aims to provide the record of rights to village household owners in rural areas and issue property cards.

It is being implemented across the country in a phased manner over a period of four years and would eventually cover around 6.62 lakh villages in India, the statement said.

Under the pilot phase, about 1 lakh villages in the states of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Karnataka, and few border villages of Punjab and Rajasthan, along with establishment of continuous operating system (CORS) stations’ network across Punjab and Rajasthan, are being covered, the PMO said.

Furthermore, all these six states have signed MoU with Survey of India for drone survey of rural areas and implementation of the scheme.

These states have finalised the digital property card format and the villages to be covered for drone-based survey. While states of Punjab and Rajasthan have signed MoU with Survey of India for establishment of CORS network to assist in future drone flying activities.

However, different states have different nomenclature for the Property Cards viz. ‘Title deed’ in Haryana, ‘Rural Property Ownership Records (RPOR)’ in Karnataka, ‘Adhikar Abhilekh’ in Madhya Pradesh, ‘Sannad’ in Maharashtra, ‘Svamitva Abhilekh’ in Uttarakhand, ‘Gharauni’ in Uttar Pradesh, the statement added.