Pravas Kumar Singh sworn in as CERC member

at 4:34 pm
Pravas Singh

New Delhi (NVI): Pravas Kumar Singh took oath as member of Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) today in the presence of Power Minister R K Singh, the Ministry of Power said.

“Minister of State for Power (I/C), R K Singh administered the Oath of Office and Secrecy to Pravas Kumar Singh, Member, Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC),” the Power Ministry said in a statement.

Singh was appointed member of CERC vide order dated 16.12.2020. He holds LLB Degree and has worked as member (legal) in Jharkhand SERC till he was appointed Member, CERC.

According to the Power Ministry, the CERC had been established by the Government of India under the provisions of the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998. It is the Central Commission for the purposes of the Electricity Act, 2003 which has repealed the ERC Act, 1998.

The commission consists of a Chairperson and four other members including Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority who is the ex-officio Member of the Commission.

The major functions of CERC under the Act are, inter-alia, to regulate the tariff of generating companies owned or controlled by the Central Government, to regulate the tariff of other generating companies having a composite scheme for generation and sale of electricity in more than one state etc., the ministry noted.

Under the Act, CERC shall also advise the government on formulation of national electricity policy, tariff policy, promotion of competition, efficiency and economy in activities of electricity industry, the statement said.

Also, promotion of investment in electricity industry and any other matter referred to the Central Commission by the government, it added.