President Kovind to confer National Award to Teachers tomorrow

President Ram Nath Kovind

New Delhi (NVI): On the occasion of Teachers’ Day 2020, President Ram Nath Kovind will be conferring the National Award for Teachers tomorrow.

47 teachers have been selected by the Education Ministry for the National Award this year. The ceremony will be held in a virtual mode amid COVID-19 pandemic.

The national level awards are given to teachers on Teachers’ Day to celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest teachers in the country and to honour those teachers who through their commitment have not only improved the quality of school education but also enriched the lives of their students.

Education minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ and minister of state (MoS) for education Sanjay Dhotre will also be present at the ceremony.

On August 21, the ministry released the list of 47 teachers selected for the national award. This also includes two teachers from the differently-abled category.

The teachers were selected by an independent jury at the national level after reviewing a list of 153 teachers as shortlisted by all the states and Union Territories.

Additionally, the University Grants Commission (UGC) and the Ministry of Education will organise webinars on the recently adopted new National Education Policy, or NEP 2020.

The commission said that it will also run social media campaigns on September 5 as a part of Teachers’ Day celebrations.