Rajeev Kumar takes over as new EC

Rajeev Kumar

New Delhi (NVI): Former Finance Secretary Rajeev Kumar today assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner (EC) of India and will work with Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra.

Kumar, a retired Indian Administrative Services (IAS) officer of 1984 Jharkhand cadre, was appointed as new Election Commissioner on August 22 following the resignation of Ashok Lavasa.

During his over three-decade tenure in the government, Kumar has worked in various Ministries at the Centre and in his State cadre of Bihar and Jharkhand.

He has acquired his academic degrees of B.SC, LL.B, PGDM and MA Public Policy, Kumar has extensive work experience across Social Sector, Environment and Forests, Human Resources, Finance and Banking Sector.

Kumar was serving as the chairperson of the Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB). His tenure was to end on April 28, 2023. Prior to this, he had served as the union finance secretary from September 2017 to February 2020.

He was, however, appointed as the secretary in the Department of Financial Services in September 2017 and is credited to play the key role in the merger of 10 public sector banks into four.

As Chief Election Commissioner, Kumar is expected to oversee the next general election in 2024.