India to open embassies in Estonia, Paraguay and Dominican Republic

at 11:01 pm

New Delhi (NVI): The Union Cabinet today gave its approval for opening up of three Indian Missions in Estonia, Paraguay and Dominican Republic next year.

The decision was taken during the Union Cabinet meeting today chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi after a proposal from the External Affairs Ministry.

“Opening of Indian Missions in these countries will help expand India’s diplomatic footprint, deepen political relations, enable growth of bilateral trade, investment and economic engagements, facilitate stronger people-to-people contacts, bolster political outreach in multilateral fora and help garner support for India’s foreign policy objectives,” read an official statement.

Foreign Minister S Jaishankar tweeted on the development, saying that the move will expand India’s global footprint.

“Expanding its global footprint, India will open Embassies in Estonia, Paraguay and Dominican Republic. Our partnership has strengthened in recent years and resident missions will advance our cooperation further,” he tweeted.

“Look forward to their early establishment,” he said in another tweet while tagging foreign ministers of these respective countries.

Indian mission in these countries will also better assist the Indian community and protect their interests, the Cabinet said in a statement.

“The objective of our foreign policy is to build a conducive environment for India’s growth and development through partnerships with friendly countries.  There are presently Missions and Posts across the world which serve as conduits of our relations with partner countries,” the said.

“Enhancement of India’s diplomatic presence will, inter-alia, provide market access for Indian companies and bolster Indian exports of goods and services. This would have a direct impact in augmenting domestic production and employment in line with our goal of ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’,” it added.