MHA declares 9 individuals linked to Khalistani groups as designated terrorists

New Delhi (NVI): The Ministry of Home Affairs today declared nine individuals as designated terrorists under provisions of amended UAPA Act, for trying to revive militancy in Punjab.

The MHA, under the leadership of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, declared these persons as terrorists for their involvement in “various acts of terrorism from across the border and from foreign soil”.

“They have been relentless in their nefarious efforts of destabilizing the country, by trying to revive militancy in Punjab through their anti national activities and through their support to and involvement in the Khalistan Movement,” the ministry said in an official statement.

According to the ministry, out of nine individuals, four belong to Pakistan-based terrorist organisations. They include Wadhawa Singh Babbar, chief of Babbar Khalsa International (BKI); Lakhbir Singh, who heads International Sikh Youth Federation; Ranjeet Singh, chief of Khalistan Zindabad Force (KZB) and Paramjit Singh, who leads Khalistan Commando Force.

The five others are from Germany, USA, UK and Canada based terror organisations:

* Bhupinder Singh Bhinda: Germany based key member of terrorist organization, “Khalistan Zindabad Force”

* Gurmeet Singh Bagga: Germany based key member of terrorist organisation, “Khalistan ZindabadForce”

* Gurpatwant Singh Pannun: USA based key member of Unlawful Association, “Sikh for Justice”

* Hardeep Singh Nijjar: Canada based Chief of “Khalistan Tiger Force”

* Paramjit Singh: United Kingdom based Chief of terrorist organization,“BabbarKhalsa International”

In August 2019, the Central Government had amended the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967 to include the provision of designating an individual as a terrorist. Prior to this amendment, only organizations could be designated as terrorist organizations.