Over 86% of new COVID cases in India are from 6 states

at 11:58 am
COVID cases
Representational/file photo

New Delhi (NVI): Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab, Karnataka, Gujarat and Tamil Nadu have been reporting a surge in the daily new coronavirus cases and together they account for 86.25 per cent of the new cases reported in the past 24 hours, Union Health Ministry confirmed.

As many as 18,599 COVID-19 fresh cases have been registered in the last 24 hours across the country.

“Maharashtra has reported the highest daily new cases at 11,141, followed by Kerala with 2,100 while Punjab reported 1,043 new cases,” the Ministry of Health said in a statement.

A total of eight states are displaying an upward trajectory in daily new cases, it added.

In this regard, Centre is regularly holding high-level review meetings with the states and UTs showing a surge in new daily cases, the ministry noted.

Moreover, the country’s active COVID-19 cases has reached 1,88,747. The present active caseload now stands at 1.68 per cent of total positive cases.

The cumulative tests conducted in the country have surpassed 22 crores (22,19,68,271). With this, he national cumulative positivity rate currently stands at 5.06 per cent.

Apart from this, more than 2.09 crore (2,09,89,010) vaccine doses have been administered through 3,76,633 sessions, as per the provisional report till 7 am, the statement said.

These include 69,85,911HCWs (1st dose), 35,47,548 HCWs (2nd dose), 66,09,537 FLWs (1st dose) and 2,13,559 FLWs (2nd Dose), it added.

As many as 4,80,661 beneficiaries aged more than 45 years with specific co-morbidities (1st Dose) and 31,51,794 beneficiaries aged more than 60 years.

Furthermore, 97 deaths were reported in the last 24 hours. A total of seven States account for 87.63 per cent of the new deaths.

Maharashtra saw the maximum casualties (38). Punjab follows with 17 daily deaths and Kerala reported13 deaths in the last 24 hours.

In past 24 hours, 18 States and UTs have not reported any COVID-19 deaths in the country, the ministry said.

These are Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chandigarh, Daman & Diu & D&N Haveli, Goa, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Ladakh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Puducherry, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, it added.