President appoints new governors in 8 states

at 1:17 pm
Representative photo.

New Delhi: Union Minister Thaawarchand Gehlot appointed as Governor of Karnataka as part of new appointments and transfer of Governors ahead of the expected reshuffle and expansion of Union Cabinet.

President Ram Nath Kovind has appointed new Governors for 8 states, statement issued by Rashtrapati Bhawan.

P.S. Sreedharan Pillai, Governor of Mizoram has been appointed as Governor of Goa, Governor of Haryana Satyadev Narayan Arya appointed as Governor of Tripura and Governor of Tripura Ramesh Bais is transferred and appointed as Governor of Jharkhand.

Bandaru Dattatraya has been appointed as Governor of Haryana, Dr Hari Babu Kambhampati appointed as Governor of Mizoram, Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel as Governor of Madhya Pradesh and Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar as Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

The above appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices, the statement added.