President promotes art, hosts top artists at Rashtrapati Bhawan

at 2:37 pm
President Ram Nath Kovind while attending the exhibition of paintings set up by Artists-In-Residence at Rashtrapati Bhavan

New Delhi (NVI): Indian artists, who have painted their way to glory, recently got a huge platform to showcase their talent when they were invited by the head of Indian state President Ram Nath Kovind to stay at Rashtrapati Bhawan and exhibit their skills there.

The feat for the artists came as part of ‘In-Residence’ programme of Rashtrapati Bhavan which culminated in week-long exhibition of their paintings made during their stay in the house of first citizen of India. The President Ram went round the exhibition on Sunday.


The aim of the ‘In-Residence’ programme is to provide artists an opportunity to stay in Rashtrapati Bhavan and be a part of the life of Rashtrapati Bhavan. It seeks to provide an environment which will inspire creative thinking and rejuvenate artistic impulses.

The exhibition of aesthetic paintings will be open for public from November 19 to 24 between 9 am to 4 pm.  The entry to the exhibition will be from Gate Number 30 (Mother Teresa Crescent) of Rashtrapati Bhavan. The visitors can get more information from Visitors’ Management Cell (011-23015321 Extn. 4751 and 011- 23017820).

During the stay at Rashtrapati Bhavan, artists in residence put their creating thinking on canvas and also mentored around 65 school children. The artworks created by these children were also in display at the exhibition, said an official statement.


The paintings, at the display in the exhibition, were made by the artists during their week-long stay at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Under the In-Residence programme, artists stayed within the Rashtrapati Bhavan premises from November 10 to 17.

They included eminent and internationally acclaimed artists such as Krishen Khanna, Ganesh Haloi, Anjolie Ela Menon, Lalu Prasad Shaw, Sanat Kar, Arpita Singh, Paramjit Singh, Suhas Bahulkar, Chandra Bhattacharjee, Anwar Khan, Sanjay Bhattacharya, Chinmay Roy, Siddarth Shingade, Parnita Parveen Bora and Vimmi Indra.