J&K offical languages bill gets Cabinet approval

(Source: @twitter)

New Delhi (NVI): The Union Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi today approved the Jammu and Kashmir Languages Bill 2020 in which five languages—Urdu, Hindi, Kashmiri, Dogri and English—will be the official languages of the region.

The decision was announced at a media briefing by Union Minister Prakash Javadekar. He said that the Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill was approved based on the public demand.

The language bill will be introduced in Parliament soon, he added.

“Union Cabinet has approved in Parliament the Jammu & Kashmir Official Languages Bill 2020 in which five languages Urdu, Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi & English will be official languages. This has been done based on public demand,” Javadekar said.

Union Minister Jitendra Singh also stated that the inclusion of Dogri, Hindi & Kashmiri as official languages in Jammu & Kashmir is not only a fulfilment of a long-pending public demand but also in keeping up with the spirit of equality ushered after August 5, 2019.

The move, however, comes ahead of the monsoon session of the Parliament, which is slated to begin on September 14.